Postaday2011 – 24/341 What is my favourite sound?

Well this should be easy, I was a sound engineer for eighteen years and I had the opportunity to listen to so many different things. In fact this is an extremely difficult subject, how do you choose one from the myriad of sounds you hear every day? I think it is impossible for me to choose so here in no particular order are some of my favourite sounds…

My wife’s voice, my granddaughter laughing or any of my children on the end of the phone. The sound of distant traffic in Paris from my 10th floor hotel room in the morning and buskers playing their accordions in the metro stations, I love the sound of the Paris metro.  The noisy chaos of the Grand Canal in Venice and the sound of the sea lapping against the rocks at night. Weather forecasts that include the words hot, dry and sunny. Espresso coffee machines and my friend Olivier “being French”. There is something really great about sitting outside a café on a Parisian street listening to chatter all around you.

Music can convey such emotion and it is always lovely to be able to sit and listen to a Beethoven piano concerto, some Mozart or a Verdi opera.  There is such a choice of “popular music”,  Nina Simone, Lady Gaga, Elton John, George Michael and so many more. And finally the sound of birdsong, blackbirds make a wonderful sound in the evening.

Close your eyes and just listen…

One thought on “Postaday2011 – 24/341 What is my favourite sound?

Leave a Reply

