Postaday2011 – 40/325 Do you believe in ghosts?

What’s something you never believed until you experienced it?

I’ve always remained open minded about the supernatural and things that go bump in the night. I do believe cats have some ability to sense the emotions of people but it is a very hard thing to nail down.

Many years ago when I was a sound engineer my colleagues and I were working near Milton Keynes recording a special concert with Johnny Dankworth and Cleo Lane, absolutely brilliant if you liked jazz.  It was the day of the general election and I had forgotten to get a postal ballot so could not vote. All the papers came out in the morning predicting a labour landslide, John Major’s government was hugely unpopular.

So we go off to record our concert and don’t get back till late, so late that the results are starting to come in as we sit in the bar of the hotel watching the BBC special. After a while it becomes clear the Mr Major and co have pulled the proverbial rabbit out of the hat and held on. Time for bed.

My room was in the loft of this old thatched house that had been converted into a hotel. Nice room with a great view across the fields. It was also rather hot so when I got into bed I wasn’t too bothered about the duvet. Being tired it wasn’t too long before I was well away. After a couple of hours I woke up feeling very cold, I mean like I’d been outside in the freezing snow without a coat cold and I also suddenly felt as if I wasn’t alone in the room. Just writing this gives me the shivers! I pulled the duvet up around me but it made no difference, I was freezing and frightened.

The next morning I related the story to the owner who with a knowing look agreed to move me to another room. I don’t know what it was but I’m fairly sure it was a spirit of some kind. Talking to other people who had stayed there it would seem that this room was deeply unpopular with guests and it was normal for anyone staying to want to change rooms after the first night. Weird, odd, strange I have no idea what happened but I do know I’m never ever going back.

Has anything similar happened to you?

Leave a Reply

