Postaday2011 – What would I like to eat right now?

Seriously I think these topics are getting worse but I am trying to stick to the suggestions so here we go…

Right now at 18.30 (UK) I think I could murder a curry, a Chicken Jalfrezi would be good with a Peshwari nan and Bombay potatoes. Perhaps some Popadoms first.

The full question offered me anything I wanted irrespective of cost but to be honest what I truly fancy is described above. In fact I will be having a very nice Insalata Caprese when I can be fussed to go and make it. This will be followed by a Strawberry and Almond crumble the in-house moderator prepared yesterday.

I had Lobster once in a very expensive restaurant in Paris, didn’t really do it for me, I think it made me ill but I can’t be 100% sure. I’ve a positive discrimination against most shell fish except Prawns, Shrimps and Langoustine. Oysters no thanks, Whelks, Cockles you can keep all these so called delicacies  from the sea. I’m not over fussed about Venison, Pheasant or Partridge but I do like Rabbit. Fillet steak, why not?

I had the most wonderful Rabbit in Florence in a little restaurant in the shadow of the Ponte Vecchio where else? Please don’t ask the name I can’t remember but you sometimes find rabbit on the menu at The Fleece in Witney or at Locanda Locatelli, my favourite Italian restaurant. I am also rather partial to Pigeon much to the disgust of my daughter who hates these rather stupid birds with a passion.

The second part of the question is rather more tricky, who would I dine with? In order of preference – the in-house moderator and my children.

I suppose I should share my curry fest with someone from its country of origin in which case Atul Kochhar of Benares in Mayfair would be good. If I was going Italian it would have to be Giorgio Locatelli and for any other meal I’d like to chat with James Martin, without doubt the best TV chef in the UK.

If we talking historical Michelangelo would be my first choice. Perhaps I would be present when he designed the helicopter. Now that would be something.

Leave a Reply

