Postaday2011 – Chocolate or Vanilla?

This is an easy one for me… Chocolate every time. It is, a “no brainer”.

I like the taste of vanilla particularly in something like Panna Cotta but 99 times out of the 100 for deserts or ice cream I would go for chocolate rather than vanilla.

When was the last time you stood in the kitchen and thought “I’d really like some vanilla” whereas unfortunately the in-house moderator and I often resort to chocolate when we need a quick pick me up. Wrong so wrong, I know it’s just a sugar rush but what can you do?

If I’m in the supermarket which I seem to be most days I never loiter by the vanilla section eyeing up the pods thinking that looks really good. I could just fancy some of that. Move me to the confectionery section and just leave by the boxes of luxury chocolates and I’ll be fine thanks. It’s much much worse in Selfridges they have Godiva and other exotic brands. Fortnum & Mason’s can be difficult and any trip to Hotel Chocolate will undoubted end in a purchase.

But there are boundaries, my personal limit would be the 70% dark anything stronger is not for me. I’m really sorry and for the true aficionado this is akin to heresy but I prefer good quality milk over dark and I will eat the white stuff although I’m told the actual cocoa content is depressingly low. However I am not averse to chocs enrobed in white chocolate.

Like all things the quality varies and what I may regard as really good someone else may dislike intently and that is why choice is such a wonderful thing and the chocolate industry relieves us of so much money every year.

3 thoughts on “Postaday2011 – Chocolate or Vanilla?

  1. I’ll try again:
    Why, oh why does it have to be ‘either’ ‘or’? πŸ™‚

    A really good vanilla ice-cream, such as Mackies, (is wonderful…. and on occasion enhanced by a little dark Green and Black grated over. Or a good chocolate sauce.

Leave a Reply

