Postaday2011 – Identity theft scam alert

Whatever today’s topic was it’s gone by the wayside in favour of writing about an email I just received.

I don’t do my tax return I have an accountant to do that and very good he is to, if you need one email me and I’ll forward his details.

An email arrived this morning which has found it’s way to the JUNK folder, even the computer was suspicious! purporting to be from Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs advising the recipient – not address to me – that following a review of my fiscal activity I am due a refund of 468 GBP and fifty pence. Seemed unlikely as both I and my accounting dude are fairly confident we got it right when the return was submitted last year. It went on to suggest that I should avoid delay and check my bank details by following a link in the email. I don’t think I’ll take them up on their kind offer. I have no desire to share my bank details with anyone thank you.

So a cautionary warning if you receive something like this and don’t want your current account emptied ignore this offer and hit delete.

Leave a Reply

