Postaday2011 – Stupid, stupid, stupid

Want to know what the stupidest thing I’ve heard this week is? Well it’s only Wednesday so there is still plenty of time for more insanely absurd comments but the winner so far is this.

I recently purchased a new piece of electronic equipment and according to the manual it should be able to perform certain functions but it doesn’t. The response from the kit is that the requested operation is not possible. Now it clearly says on page 53 that it will do exactly what I am trying to persuade it to do. I’ve tried every combination of commands just in case the book has the steps in the wrong order, well come on you and I both know this is entirely possible with products where the manual has been translated into English.

So I contacted the supplier of the product and they contacted head office. It took them a day to get back to me but they did eventually call. It’s not possible to perform these functions with that particular model. The lower spec version does but because you have the higher spec model…. and so on. At the end of the conversation he said “Alright” to which I replied no it is most definitely not alright. I was incredulous, it is difficult to believe that by paying extra for the better model some of the very features that would attract you to buy this particular version have been removed or disconnected in some way. If you are wondering by now what this electronic marvel might be I will put you out of your misery. It’s a SatNav and I wanted to use the voice command option to dial phone numbers. I am not impressed and may have to go to the growlery.

Leave a Reply

